PDA

View Full Version : This for me?

zstat
01-07-2008, 08:32 AM
I am new to wood working and saw the Compucarve at Sears and was WOW... This could be fun... Is this to advanced for a true novice? and how tough is it to make your own designs? Thanks z

Skyhawk
01-07-2008, 08:51 AM
This machine may easily be used by a complete novice and produce fantastic results...I would suggest taking a bit of time to read through many of the posts in this forum to familiarize yourself with the software and the machine...

As for making patterns...there is a pretty good amount of art that comes with the system that will allow you to create some interesting designs in just a few minutes...But as you look around the forum you will notice a few very detailed designs...The detailed designs are usually created using third-party software and can either be easy or very difficult depending onyour knowledge of that software!

deemon328
01-07-2008, 12:46 PM
Hello! When I asked myself the same question, I decided to get one based on one important consideration: will the carvewright allow me to do new things that I couldn't do before. The answer was absolutely yes, so I took the plunge.

I don't think the machine is appropriate for stock prep and sizing. Cutting a board to size in the carvewright could take an hour, when you could do it on traditional woodworking tools in seconds. The machine excels at detail carving and pattern work for me.

Is it too advanced? You'll need to use a computer and design the carving patterns with the included software, so there's a bit of a learning curve there if you're not computer savvy. You'll need to keep the machine tuned more than other tools in the shop, but it's not difficult to do.

DocWheeler
01-07-2008, 02:13 PM
Z,

Download a trial period of the software - that should hook you.

Dan-Woodman
01-07-2008, 05:02 PM