PDA

View Full Version : Traction Belt replacement

ChrisAlb
12-29-2007, 07:13 AM
Good morning everyone,

I have three questions.

How involved is it to change the traction belts?
What would cause the belts to tear like this with only a couple uses?
Can I trun this one around and use it until I can get a new one?

(aside from user error guys, I know how much we all like to blame ourselves but honestly, I'm really very careful about no rough edges, cups etc.etc.) I only use clean straight wood.

I've been searching the forums since 3am under Traction Belts. I've found "some" info about them but not enough.

I have the trouble shooting and parts list pdf.

The first little tear happened at about 8 hours of use months ago. This picture shows what happened yesterday. Which I'm sure is related to the initial "little" tear. About 60 hours on it now.

I'm a really good mechanic so I'm not afraid...lol

Ron Smith
12-29-2007, 07:39 AM
The first little tear happened at about 8 hours of use months ago. This picture shows what happened yesterday. Which I'm sure is related to the initial "little" tear. About 60 hours on it now.

I had the same issue occur with my first machine. Just a bad belt, I guess. I've had the same happen with my belt sander. The compression of the rollers is what keeps widening the tear. I took the belt off and actually trimmed th first inch off all the way around, then put it back on with the trimmed edge away from the keypad end. No noticable difference for the time it took to get the new belts sent. Not hard to do.

Ron

mtylerfl
12-29-2007, 07:42 AM
Hello Christopher,

Here is a link to the pdf instructions for changing the belts:
http://www.carvebuddy.com/PDFs/sandpaper_belt_change.pdf

You can purchase belts directly from LHR or from another source here:
Replacement Traction Belts for the CompuCarve™/CarveWright™ machines:
http://customsandingbelts.com/ (http://customsandingbelts.com/)