PDA

View Full Version : Board sensor

Dennis McDonald
12-05-2007, 08:40 PM
Does anyone know if there is a adjustment for the diode. Mine will not work on Walnut or any dark wood. After going through the trouble shooting in the manual I get a reading of 30, and according to the manual it should read at least 90.

I keep getting a (clear the board sensor)error on the darker woods. The machine will find the wood if it is Oak, pine, fir, and Mdf. The tape trick is somewhat hit or miss, maybe because I am a novice with machine. Although I did not just fall off of the Turnip truck. I am a retired Toolmaker that made molds and dies for the Electronic connector industry. So CNC is not totally new to me.

Needless to say I have tried to contact CarveWright, I never got past hold today, and they have not called back, or answered a email. I thought maybe someone out there might be able to give heads up on my problem. Also does anyone know how much they charge for a new sensor?????

I have been running without the lens and getting by, but we all know that it will possibly catch up with me in time.

Looking forward to hearing from you folks out there. I have been reading the Forum since I got my machine and am very impressed with the knowledge base that it contains.

Dennie

Bubbabear
12-05-2007, 08:46 PM
try painters tape around the edges

pkunk
12-05-2007, 08:48 PM
Sometimes when mine has trouble with a dark wood, more light (even a small flashlight) allows it to read OK.

Dennis McDonald
12-05-2007, 08:58 PM
Thanks for the tips (blue tape and flash light)

I thought maybe that I was a little goofy the other day, because I had the machine sitting in the morning sun and it found and caved a walnut boad, so it makes sense with your flashlight trick.

I am retired from 3M, so will get some of that high priced tape that is paying in part for my retirement. Ha Ha

LollyWood
12-05-2007, 09:04 PM
Dennie,