PDA

View Full Version : Carving Corian?

dhauptman
12-01-2007, 09:50 PM
Hello,

I have seen several posts about carving with Corian. Is this the same Corian that is used on counter tops? How does it carve? Is it hard on the bits? I am fairly new to the CW machine and have not done a whole lot more than MDF at this point. I'd like to try Corian. I think that would look nice and be great for gifts. Any information and pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks!
David

Ron Smith
12-01-2007, 10:12 PM
and the only thing I'm careful about is to keep the chips cleaned out more frequently. Corian chips do make a mess and they stick to everything. I haven't had any problems making signs or projects out of it. The CarveWright speeds haven't shown any problem witht the routing. Corian will dull your bits quicker than wood, especially if you use the stuff with stone chips embedded. It sure cuts cleanly, though. You'll have to ask others about doing photos. I haven't done any of those yet.

Ron

leroy
12-04-2007, 07:29 AM
Corian cuts great. Combined with centerline text you can make great looking signs. I have cut a lot of it and haven't had any problems with bit dulling. I would add some imiges if I knew how?????

dhauptman
12-07-2007, 11:58 PM
Thanks for the responses. Any idea where to buy Corian? I have looked in my local home centers (HD, Lowe's, etc.). Also, what is the price for a small sheet of corian (maybe 2' x 4').

David

eromran
12-08-2007, 08:10 AM
Ebay seems to be a pretty good place if you watch carefully i usually pay about $45 for 12 pieces about 11 X 13 X 1/4 hope that helps.

TurkeyBranch
12-08-2007, 11:02 AM
I am seriously thinking about buying a dozen sheets, price break at 12 sheets :)
Then cutting them up into 11x14, 8x10, 5x7

Think it is worth it? It is so hard to find a supplier that you can get exact sizes, without "bidding" and the quantity you want, maybe even mix and match.