PDA

View Full Version : Essencial Shop Tools

STEAM
09-23-2007, 04:09 PM
Hello Everyone
First let me say that reading this forum is what convinced me to buy a CW. I placed my order two days ago and am now setting up an area in my basement to work. I have never done real woodworking before. I have built decks, utility buildings, remodeling, etc. My question is what do you suggest I buy to go in my new shop. I currently have a scroll saw, a dremel set, miter saw, drills, etc. I am going to purchase a dust collection system but other than that I really don't know what I should get. I am mainly going to be doing this as a hobby and have no plans of going full time with it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated .:)

pkunk
09-23-2007, 04:40 PM
the most used & important WW tool would be a tablesaw with a good fence. Bosch & Dewalt make decent small saws. The CW requires wood w/ absolutely parallel edges.

Hawg_man
09-23-2007, 04:51 PM
A nice table top router............Using the CC for edge work is overkill and it is much quicker with a router.

Bob

STEAM
09-23-2007, 05:24 PM
Thanks guys. That's two things I hadn't thought about. After work tomorrow I think I will make a trip to my favorite toy store. Home Depot :D

Kenm810
09-23-2007, 05:39 PM
How about a Little Eye and Ear protection not to mention Dust Masks.
Also a Random Orbital Sander, and possible a 3 x21 Belt sander or 10 Disc Bench Sander.
Along with a Craftsman Membership card and up to date catalogs from Rockler and the WoodCraft stores and locations.
A Wireless Extension Phone with a Loud Ringer and a Radio for some woodworking music and the Hockey Games.

ps. Maybe for Christmas a Bench top Drill Press would be Handy

STEAM
09-23-2007, 06:22 PM
How about a Little Eye and Ear protection not to mention Dust Masks.
Also a Random Orbital Sander, and possible a 3 x21 Belt sander or 10 Disc Bench Sander.