PDA

View Full Version : z axis acting very wierd

tjelite
08-22-2007, 12:15 PM
Not sure if this is software or hardware...

I am trying to make a couple of speaker grills for a customer. Material will be .220 cast acrylic. I'm basically routing out the shape, and then doing some custom engraving, that I imported as a PNG.

For some reason, the machine is 'tapering' the depth of the graphic. I have the whole thing set to 0.063 deep, but as the machine moves from right to left, it gets progressively deeper. In fact, it actually cut all the way through the 1/2 mdf test piece, when it got to the left graphic!

This is my first attempt at importing and cutting graphics, so I could have done something wrong, but since I inserted the same graphic onto both pieces, it seems more like a machine issue.

Any thoughts? I'm going to try and do some other (simpler) operations, and see if the depth still varies.

Toby

RC Woodworks
08-22-2007, 12:51 PM
Not sure if this is software or hardware...

I am trying to make a couple of speaker grills for a customer. Material will be .220 cast acrylic. I'm basically routing out the shape, and then doing some custom engraving, that I imported as a PNG.

For some reason, the machine is 'tapering' the depth of the graphic. I have the whole thing set to 0.063 deep, but as the machine moves from right to left, it gets progressively deeper. In fact, it actually cut all the way through the 1/2 mdf test piece, when it got to the left graphic!

This is my first attempt at importing and cutting graphics, so I could have done something wrong, but since I inserted the same graphic onto both pieces, it seems more like a machine issue.

Any thoughts? I'm going to try and do some other (simpler) operations, and see if the depth still varies.

Toby