PDA

View Full Version : Newbie's first carve

dannirr
08-02-2007, 08:45 PM
OK, I know you guys/gals are way good at this stuff - but I have never done anything in wood before beyond building the workbenches in my garage. So, here are my first two attempts at simple stuff

A sign for the dog's kennel and a tic tac toe board for the kids

Thanks

Danni

Kenm810
08-02-2007, 09:04 PM
Danni,

We all started wood carving as newbies at one time or another.

Carving something for yourself, your family, or your home, I would say is a fine place to start.
Please keep the photos coming. And thank you for sharing them. http://www.carvewright.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

Dave-Carve
08-02-2007, 09:17 PM
Danni

I Like That TIC TAC TOE Board Must beat paper and pencil:eek:
Nice Carve :cool: Now I Have a New Project !!!!!!!!!!!!

oldjoe
08-02-2007, 09:55 PM
Danni;
I have had my carver for almost 4 months now and I am proud to say I am still learning the things it can do, its like I have this Ferrari and I can't drive it over 45mph. With the day to day life of work and family I just don't have the time it takes to learn everything.
The work you posted may be seem simple compared to what some people do here but I liked what I saw and very original I would have stayed with a pencil and paper with tic tac toe never would have thunk it in wood before. Did you do the whole board in the CC or did you carve it and then cut it to size in another saw?
And yes keep posting your work I plan on it just as soon as I can find where I downloaded the pictures to in my computer, I suffer from Partzimers, I only temporarily forget where I put things, and the stuff I do is even simpler then what you did. But I will post it anyway. Its good to be proud of your work,

dannirr
08-02-2007, 09:59 PM
I did the whole tic tac toe board in CW. Was really very simple. Now I need colored marbles, or better still, perhaps some polished pebbles.

Danni

BobHill
08-03-2007, 07:06 AM
Danni,