PDA

View Full Version : Just ordered a CC a few minutes ago at my local Sears store - Have questions

Ivanq
07-23-2007, 07:34 PM
I chose Sears as opposed to direct from CW due to the fact I can return for exchange or a refund if it has too many initial problems. There was also about $100 difference in price.

I have, over the last several days, read almost all of the forum posts that I could get access to and I learned a lot thanks to all of the helpful people on these forums. In fact one of the main reasons that I bought the machine was the willingness of forum members to share their knowledge and experiences. CW should give you folks some kind of gratuity because I’m sure I’m not the only one that has been swayed into a purchase because of the forums.

So, obviously, I’m a newbie and as such I do have a few questions. I do have some background in woodworking but I’ve never carved anything, ever. I’m retired now and I hope this will become an avocation/hobby of sorts.

Here’s a start list of my questions.

What is the CCM error?
What type of wood should I use for learning the machine? Can you use white pine just as a learning medium?
When I get my machine should I use the Moly before first use or is that already done on the new machines?
Any suggestions on tasks I should first do after I get the machine out of the box?

Any help offered will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for giving me your time.

Kenm810
07-23-2007, 07:51 PM
Some kind of gratuity - Na I'd settle for Centerline carved Fonts
First --Welcome to the forum
CCM = Check Cut Motor
White pine is a good learning medium. Save the better woods till after you get a feel for the machine
after you get the machine out of the box check the Flex-Shaft and if necessary lube with Gunk ind chain lube with Moly please!
A few machines arrived with no lube or improperly lubed Flex-Shafts -- can and will over heat
there are load of folks here to answer questions and the Search option can save your sanity on occasion.