PDA

View Full Version : Best way to get a perfect fit?

GRASSHOPPER
07-08-2007, 10:14 PM
Hello everybody.

I have been doing wood work for about 30 years as a hobby and am looking at getting money for some of it. This Compucarve was a Fathers day gift from a new son in law who wants me to build the cabinets in the house he is going to build (I suspect he wants some fancy cabinets).

I have a potential customer who is a custom gunsmith and is looking for exact fit presentation boxes and if done right the cost is a small matter. This guy gets big bucks. I am trying to achieve that perfect fit and will need to get the scanning probe to get it right. What I am asking for is the best technique.

The indentation has to be about one third the width of the gun. Is it possible to place the gun on a sled and set the probe at a zero point that is actually not touching anything so as to only scan the top one third of the gun and then invert the scan in the software? Would it be better to press the gun into some material to make the proper outline and then scan that material? If so what is the best material to use?

As you can see I will probably be on here with a lot of questions. I have already read a lot in here and learned a lot.

I am having a problem with the edge sensor and have found a couple things to try to fix it.

Thanks in advance for the help and advise.

pkunk
07-08-2007, 10:28 PM
Hello everybody.

I have been doing wood work for about 30 years as a hobby and am looking at getting money for some of it. This Compucarve was a Fathers day gift from a new son in law who wants me to build the cabinets in the house he is going to build (I suspect he wants some fancy cabinets).