PDA

View Full Version : windows vista

bamaman315
07-08-2007, 03:26 PM
I just ordered my second compucarve machine, is there anyone using designer with vista? are there any know problems with that version of windows?

Skyhawk
07-08-2007, 04:37 PM
I used Designer with Vista for a while without any issues...I've since reverted back to XP due to a few compatability issues not related to Designer, but it should work fine!

pkunk
07-08-2007, 04:56 PM
I just bought a laptop with Vista (don't ask) dual core,1gig ram. It works OK, but not as fast as on the Mac, and it's crashed several times on me when I was trying to make an oval. Get lots of ram-I thing 2 gigs would be minimum. In my case though, maybe centerline text is the culprit as it's a real memory hog.

dcurrysr
07-09-2007, 06:42 AM
I have been using designer with Vista for about 3 months and haven't had any problems.
Dave

oldjoe
07-09-2007, 12:07 PM
I too am running Windows Vista. I bought a laptop so as not to tie up the family computer. Hard to find anything new without Vista. Carvewright works fine slow but Vista is so big I think that what slows thngs down. Course I just bought the least expencive lap top I could find at the electronics super store ( Walmart). But I have noticed the slowdown on other programs as well. I have been warned by people that W.V. in the professional level really is really bad at taking up space. :mad:

mikesmall
07-10-2007, 10:14 PM
Finally something I can help with. Here's a quick and cheap way to improve your Vista performance...

http://blogs.chron.com/techblog/archives/2006/11/faster_vista_faster.html

If you find that Vista is not all it's cut out to be with this software, you might want to try using the "Compatibilty Mode", which will run your app in native XP (or whatever Win OS you want). It will still likely be slow so you might want to use the trick mentioned above.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/using-windows-vista-compatibility-mode/

Good Luck,

Mike