PDA

View Full Version : Took the plunge

s2rider
05-18-2007, 09:46 PM
Ordered mine from Sears tonight. The forums are a little bit scary to read but I make my living diagnosing and repairing motorcycles so I ain't skeeeered.

Maybe by next weekend I'll be on my way to wood carving bliss.

Wish me luck and hope I fill my shoes up with chips and sawdust.

Randell
:cool:

oldjoe
05-18-2007, 10:26 PM
Congrats on the purchase on your machine I am sure you won't be disappointed. I know I was really nervous about purchasing mine and disappointed when my first machine pooped out after only about 10 hours. But the new one is running like a champ so far at least, it is at about 60+ hours. Yes it is true I have had my moments with it if you have read some of my recent posts. But so far all minor and this is a great place for help lots of smart people here.
So kick back relax and let the saw dust fly

Kenm810
05-18-2007, 10:26 PM
Randell,

Of course We all wish you nothing but good luck,
Plus a big welcome to this chippers Forum

s2rider
05-18-2007, 10:43 PM
Thanks guys. Just printed off the manual...I'm off to do some reading.

I sure would welcome any of those "you need to do this right out of the box" type tips. You know...lube this, check that, make sure this is just so kind of things.

Randell

Jon Jantz
05-19-2007, 12:26 AM
Welcome, S2Rider...

You are exactly the kind of person who will LOVE this machine... since you will understand the value of babying a machine.

I'm having a few problems with mine, but I'm convinced at least half the bad things you hear people complaining about in these forums are in fact USER error. I know a large percentage of my problems have been...

I think some have expected it to be as easy to operate as an ink jet printer and that you can pretty much put what you want in it and it should work. IT AIN'T SO.... BUT if you have a little patience and climb the short learning curve... I promise.. you will really enjoy this little carver.