PDA

View Full Version : You don't need Corel

MarkJamesDesign
04-17-2007, 08:11 AM
I should have posted this a couple of weeks ago when I first started using the Designer software. Could have saved some folks some $$$. As a graphic artist who has been in the biz since before PCs were even used for graphics, I have had a lot of experience with all sorts of graphic design applications.

Corel is an awesome program and I have been using it since version 5 or 6, I forget which, but it is extreme overkill for what is needed for the CW. Corel is used by professional sign makers, graphic designers, illustrators, magazine and news ad layout artists, the list goes on. If you purchase or already have Corel, you are going to use only a speck of it's capabilities for the CW.

Having said that, I will tell you that I have used Ulead Photoimpact for about 8 years, since version 3.0 now at version 12 and it does everything I need for the CW. It can produce 3D shapes easier than Corel and has a much easier learning curve. I create V-carve text (centerline style) out of almost any font and can save everything as a UFO. file (Uleads layered vector format) and come back and edit at will. The price for version 12 is just $89.00 and I have included a link to the free trail page. It's worth a try, I promise. Even if you already have Corel, as I do, you will prefer this program. I use Corel occasionally when I need to seriously manipulate text by stretching or breaking apart letters because it's a little easier in Corel but that is about it.

I am not trying to slam Corel. I have it and it is a great program for what it was designed for. But it is overkill for the CW user in my opinion. Anyone who has questions about the Ulead software (which I will refer to as UPI in all further posts) feel free to ask. I will offer as much help as I can.

http://www.ulead.com/pi/trial.htm

Jim

MarkJamesDesign
04-17-2007, 09:52 AM