PDA

View Full Version : Adventures in guitar making

Lincoln96
02-11-2020, 06:45 PM
I'm a newb. Turned my CW on for the first time 2 months ago. I'd be lying if I said it wasn't a rocky road, but things are coming together for me now.
One of the main reasons I wanted a CNC machine was for my hobby - building guitars. I purchased the CW because of the small foot-print it required, and the ability to do longer projects. I also do a lot of cabinet work and wanted to be able add decorative touches to it. I had pretty given up and resigned myself to thinking I bought the wrong machine for what I wanted. I've made a lot of progress since then, and I'm very happy with the CW now. Me & CW are going to be friends after all. Hope someone besides me finds this thread interesting, I plan to keep adding to it as I go.

Anyone with a template and a router can make a guitar body. As long as the top of that body is flat. If you want a profile, that's a problem. This style of guitar is called a "Les Paul" or LP for short and it features a carved top. Normally it is built in two pieces, then glued together. The base is a wood like mahogany, the carved top is often figured maple.
Here's my base carving. Note the cheater rails I attached to the side of the wood to make it longer and wider.
I didn't carve all the way through the 1-3/4" piece of material. I cut it out on the bandsaw and finished it with a router.
And then the carved top......the reason I'm here. This is the MDF version.
Success is a wonderful thing. :)

fwharris
02-11-2020, 07:46 PM
They look great and glad you two are getting along now. There are several people who do use the CarveWright to make guitars and violins. Have seen the one in the CarveWright adds/intro on their web site?

oscarl48
02-11-2020, 08:00 PM
Super cool. Please keep adding to it. Looks really interesting and fun.

You are already miles ahead of me. I purchased the CW to make wooden gear clocks. So far I have made none. :(