PDA

View Full Version : How do I delete a point in a closed vector?



Underdog
03-03-2018, 11:06 AM
How do I delete a single point in a closed vector?
Sorry for the basic question, but I use Designer too infrequently... It's so easy in ArtCAM or Aspire...
And I can't find the answer without digging up the tutorials copied somewhere onto my new PC...

Underdog
03-03-2018, 11:09 AM
In fact, if someone could point me to a basic tutorial on node/point editing in Designer, it would be most appreciated. Basic Control point editing tutorial also.

Dale
03-03-2018, 11:36 AM
Right click on the point you want to delete and that will bring up a list. Choose "Remove Vertex" from the list and the point is removed.

Underdog
03-03-2018, 11:41 AM
Ok. To answer my own question... (And leave notes for myself when I have this question again....)

To delete a node or point (called a "vertex" in Designer), you select it, right click, and choose "remove vertex" at the top of the selection choices. (I missed all of these because they have no icon.)

If you have a vertex with spline controls, can also choose "Intersect" and then "Free" or "Tangent" to change the controls on either side of the vertex to move independantly, or "tangent" which connects them.

Now I just have to figure out how to change a vertex from a one control point vertex to a double control point vertex....

Oh. And this linkie to vertex editing was helpful.
http://support.carvewright.com/carvewright-software-tutorial-modeling-patterns-from-a-tracing-image/

**EDIT** Thanks Dale, you posted quicker than I did. Can you answer the next question? above?

Underdog
03-03-2018, 11:48 AM
How do you change a normal red vertex to a spline vertex, and back again?

Dale
03-03-2018, 11:59 AM
Underdog, Sorry I can't help you on that one.

bergerud
03-03-2018, 12:02 PM
Double click on it.

Underdog
03-03-2018, 01:10 PM
Double click on it.

When I double click on the single control point vertex, it only changes it from free control point to a tangency control point. If the second control point is there, I don't see it.

bergerud
03-03-2018, 02:11 PM
Sorry, for that you need the "Change Form" selectors in the Advanced 2D add on.

Underdog
03-03-2018, 10:06 PM
I do have the Adv 2D add-on.
Whereabouts are the "Change Form" selectors?

Thanks.

mtylerfl
03-03-2018, 10:22 PM
Visit the 2D Drawing Suite software product page. Numerous videos there. I made one that should answer all your questions about drawing, editing, change firm, etc. it's the video that has the "shingled" roof displayed on it.

bergerud
03-03-2018, 10:36 PM
You need to display the Utility Tool bar. Under view - toolbars - check Utility Toolbar