PDA

View Full Version : lines in my carving

Twocarvers
11-01-2017, 11:50 AM
I am new with the carvewright. I bought it to reproduce my carvings for resale. However, here is what I have been doing:
the wood is maple, ran on normal setting, choose 1/32 bit. I am left with a rough carving with lines instead of smooth finish. I have looked at others work and can not get the same results. I need some help!!! if anyone lives near Columbus Georgia, perhaps we could get together for assistance...

lynnfrwd
11-01-2017, 11:56 AM
I am new with the carvewright. I bought it to reproduce my carvings for resale. However, here is what I have been doing:
the wood is maple, ran on normal setting, choose 1/32 bit. I am left with a rough carving with lines instead of smooth finish. I have looked at others work and can not get the same results. I need some help!!! if anyone lives near Columbus Georgia, perhaps we could get together for assistance...

You have to go into the software and tell it you are using the 1/32" bit instead of the 1/16" bit.
Go to EDIT > BOARD SETTINGS > PATTERN BIT > change from 1/16" (default) to 1/32"

It is making passes like it is a 1/16" bit and twice as thick as it actually is.

fwharris
11-01-2017, 12:11 PM
Normal will give you a rougher carving than best or optimal settings. Also when setting up your design make sure you set the "bit optimization" to best. If you are going to use the 1/32" bit make sure you change the "pattern bit" default bit setting in the board settings.

Twocarvers
11-01-2017, 12:46 PM
85017where is the "bit optimization" located? I have been selecting the 1/32 bit in the option when loading bit. Here is a sample of what I am getting. Even on Best, I get similar look. Never looks finished.

fwharris
11-01-2017, 12:58 PM