PDA

View Full Version : Long Template

cjones
09-27-2017, 11:10 AM
I am working on creating a 43" template to carve into cedar planks. I have a lot left over from a closet project and figured they would make great signs.

The question I have, how can I reduce the time carving on the CW. The opening is 3.8" Wide by 36" long. With a normal carve setting, it will take 2 hours to complete. I was thinking I might be able to carve a small region around the outer edges as well as the thumb ports and then do the rest with my router. I am not very good with a router as I have never used mine.

I am uploading the .MPC in case anyone want to take a try and see if they can find a better way to complete the long carve.

Thanks for any help as I am still trying to get something started with my new machine.

Chris Jones

myshop1044
09-27-2017, 11:51 AM
to reduce your time, cjones, the 6 holes on the side, I would use a drill function, .9 d, .25 deep, 1/8" bit. the side holes seem to be an oval, not sure about that one.
the rect tangle in the middle can be milled out using a 1/8" bit and then a 3/8" straingt cut bit or whatever you may have.
To do this, you have to reduce the size of the rect. by 1/8" length and width, C/C, apply an 1/8" bit .25 deep, I would repeat the reduction about 4 times to get the groove away from the edge of the original rect. size.
Then I would start reducing the rect. size by 3/8" until you have remove all of the wood in the middle.
simple as mud huh!
see attached.
Hope this helps
Perry B.

SteveNelson46
09-27-2017, 01:53 PM
I am working on creating a 43" template to carve into cedar planks. I have a lot left over from a closet project and figured they would make great signs.