PDA

View Full Version : Need Guidance on how to achieve what I want

Loriblackdog
04-02-2016, 04:51 AM
Hi all,

I am not sure how to get started on this pattern? I also want to know if what I want to do can be done. I live in Florida, a couple of my friends know I have the carvewright. One wants me to carve the attached as a cut out so she can hang in her Bathroom. I would like the Anchor to be 24 x 12? I am not an artist, so I have no idea what I need to do and in what order. I would really appreciate it if someone could maybe walk me thru this so I can understand what I need to do. I would greatly appreciate any help, that anyone can give me.

Thank you

Lori Blackdog:confused:80464

DickB
04-02-2016, 07:41 AM
Open Designer and make a new project board 24" x 12".
Click File - Import - Import Image File and select your image from your computer.
Click Next.
Click the Raise/Lower down arrow to lower the pattern to get rid of the background.
Click Finish and name your pattern.
Click the Pattern Tool, select your pattern, and place it on the board. Rotate it 90 degrees. Click Outline Pattern.
Delete everything but the outline of the anchor. Select the outline, grab the yellow dots and stretch to size.
Click the cutout tool. Click Flip Cutout. You may want to specify a Maximum Pass Depth of .25" if using the 1/8" cutting bit.

Add text with the Text tool.

BTW I am in Lake Placid FL.

Loriblackdog
04-02-2016, 10:35 AM
Hi DickB

I appreciate all your help, I sometimes get lost on what needs to be done first. Loved the way you took time and did step by step. I can't wait to work on it, I will forward you a copy.

Again, Thank you so much
LoriB

DickB
04-02-2016, 12:25 PM
Your welcome! Can I assume that you know about the 7 inch rule? You will need to cut this out of a longer and wider board, or use a sled.

SteveNelson46
04-02-2016, 01:03 PM
Hi all,