PDA

View Full Version : D2 International truck

oscarl48
08-03-2015, 08:22 AM
Darren,

D2 International truck patterns. Due to the depth of the model I was getting really bad patterns using stl import method so attempted picture and bas relief techniques instead.

first image settings are depth .25 height 100 with .25 carved region (image)

second image settings are depth .7 height 800 with .25 carved region (bas relief)

pictures of model enclosed so maybe some of the CW greybeards can make a decent pattern from it. I am not very good with this method of making patterns. the pictures have to be flipped vertically. I like to model from the right side so not correct as pictured.

Regards,
Oscar

henry1
08-03-2015, 09:17 AM
Nice one , Oscar your getting good

bergerud
08-03-2015, 09:21 AM
Did you use Blender bas relief or Sculptor bas relief?

oscarl48
08-03-2015, 10:02 AM
Dan, it was blender bas relief. I haven't played with it in a while so I am sure I am not optimizing the settings. I think I am becoming a jack of many but master of none.

Henry, thank you.

bergerud
08-03-2015, 10:12 AM
If I had the STL, I could give Sculptor a try.

oscarl48
08-03-2015, 10:17 AM
Dan, that would be great. Its 13M if you don't mind me jamming up your email. Please don't laugh at my terrible modeling skills.

bergerud
08-03-2015, 10:19 AM
Ok, lets try: bergerud (at) shaw.ca

oscarl48
08-03-2015, 10:33 AM
Dan,

Thanks again. Realized I sent the wrong file first. Second email has the stl I meant to send. Sorry for any confusion and the spam.

Regards,
Oscar

bergerud
08-03-2015, 10:39 AM
Oscar, I only got half a truck. Is that right? I can only do a side view.

oscarl48
08-03-2015, 10:42 AM
That was the wrong one. lol. I was attempting to maximize depth of pattern by deleting parts of the truck that were not visible on that one. big fail.

The correct stl should be there soon. sorry.