PDA

View Full Version : Red Oak Sign Making Methods

michaeldove
04-22-2015, 10:52 AM
I have started making signs out of red oak (really good deal for the oak) but I'm not the best at finishing. I get a good product out of the machine then I screw the finish up.

Here's my process.
I put a piece of cabinet paper over my red oak and carved out the (narrow) lettering. I sprayed the lettering white and then removed the cabinet paper. I brushed on 2 coats of shellac and hand sanded with 320. I brushed on a 3rd coat and let it sit overnight. Today the finish looks horrible...to the point of a recarve. I can see cliffs and swirls in the finish and my lettering looks like the white was eaten away. I'm not sure if the shellac was the best way to go or if I should have thinned it, used a rag instead of the brush, used wood filler first, etc,.....

Obviously, I'm a not a professional--I am just looking for some good advice. If anyone has any "Tried-and-True Methods" for red oak sign making can you please share them? A lot of what I read in the other forums seems to be a "one size fits all" finishing process that doesn't work for me...but then again it may be my inexperience that's messing it up.

Thanks in advance for any help I get.

DickB
04-22-2015, 11:14 AM
A picture would help.

dehrlich
04-22-2015, 01:15 PM