PDA

View Full Version : Tracking Issue

Shallz68
03-26-2015, 07:59 PM
I am new to this and only have 29 hours on my machine. I bought the serving tray pattern and it went off track at the very end, using 1/8 cutting tool twice in a row now. Attached is the outcome any ideas on how to fix this?

bergerud
03-26-2015, 09:02 PM
Welcome to the forum. Too bad the machine ruined that piece of wood. This, unfortunately is a common problem with cutouts. The first question we ask is: was the board under the rollers the whole time?

Shallz68
03-27-2015, 08:43 AM
Yes, it was under the rollers the whole time. It had the extra 7" and followed the directions exactly as it said in the pattern instructions.

bergerud
03-27-2015, 09:00 AM
One explanation for the stair stepping is that the board tracking roller (brass roller) was not tracking properly. I believe this can be caused by the vibration of the cutting bit during the cut close to the tracking roller. Another explanation is that the board is slipping on the belts.

What people do is use masking tape both under the board for the belt slipping and under the edge to help the tracking roller.

bergerud
03-27-2015, 11:02 AM
Do you have a C machine with rubber belts? Have you checked head pressure?

cestout
03-27-2015, 04:48 PM
The short cut out - the handle - looks right on. I think this cut first and short travel. The all three passes on the long cuts seemed to be off the same amount, so the problem is constant. If the board is bowed it could lift off the tracking roller at times. If a board seems a little bowed, put in your machine concave side up, and use masking tape as mentioned.
Clint

Shallz68
04-06-2015, 01:20 PM