PDA

View Full Version : Hi Santa left me a Carvewright.

DonCP
01-09-2015, 06:51 PM
Hi,

I am new to the world of CnC carving but am an avid scroll saw person. Being a retired Control Engineer the CnC thing sounded like fun.

I am local to Carvewright so I figured I could go there for help if needed.

I did and they are great people. I am having more fun and doing things I could not with the saw, but see a lot of ways to combine the two.

My surprise so far is that I do not know how to do staining and painting. Have tried but not close to what is being done here.

So many opinions, do not know where to start.

mikemi
01-09-2015, 07:27 PM
Don,

Welcome to the CarveWright world and the forum. There are many quite qualified members on the forum that are willing to help with questions, you just have to ask.

Mike

blhutchens
01-09-2015, 07:28 PM
Hi,

I am new to the world of CnC carving but am an avid scroll saw person. Being a retired Control Engineer the CnC thing sounded like fun.

I am local to Carvewright so I figured I could go there for help if needed.

I did and they are great people. I am having more fun and doing things I could not with the saw, but see a lot of ways to combine the two.

My surprise so far is that I do not know how to do staining and painting. Have tried but not close to what is being done here.

So many opinions, do not know where to start.

Welcome Don,

Don't worry about the paint stuff. You will have lots of firewood to practice on until you catch on to the carving part.
Most of my stuff I wipe the stain and let it dry, then just lightly sand the surface areas to lighten it a bit, then clear coat.

zan29
01-10-2015, 04:44 AM
Welcome to the world of Cavewright Don. The forum is will become your best friend I'm sure since people here are so helpful and encouraging.

A good way to start Don woud be to buy a project. I sell projects for Carvewright which includes all the patterns, instructions with photos and finishing process.