PDA

View Full Version : would like to make model car parts

pn14427
11-04-2014, 12:12 PM
Sorry, newbie here,

I make model wooden cars and trucks. I would love to mass produce 2 of my trucks. Is there a way to import my plans into the carvewright? My granddaughter seems to think I need to use a cad program to draw up the parts then transfer them. seems like a heck of a lot of work just to make squares and rectangles out of 1/2 inch wood. Plus I really don't want to spend all that money on a cad program if I don't have to.

Just wondering if I'm on the right track or not.

If I am posting this in the wrong area I am sorry, tried searching the forum I got so many hits it would take me a week to read them all.

Thanks for your help in advance
Pete

bergerud
11-04-2014, 12:16 PM
Welcome to the forum. Can you post a picture of the type of cars you want to make? This sounds like a cool use of the machine.

pn14427
11-04-2014, 12:53 PM
photos are too big for your forum
I will try to make them smaller
pete

pn14427
11-04-2014, 01:03 PM
I'm no computer genius
This might work they are not the best but best I can give you for now

DianMayfield
11-04-2014, 01:18 PM
I must say, those are pretty cool! I am bowed up with my real job for the next two weeks or I would love to help you through getting them set up - yes, I believe you could do most of it on the machine :)

blhutchens
11-04-2014, 01:21 PM
It doesn't look like there is anything there the CW can't make.
I have found it faster to use conventional tools to do straight cuts.
The parts it would save time and increase accuracy are the complex things like wheels, head lights, bends in the exhaust stacks etc…...

They would make awesome projects if you were to make everything using the CW.

Brent

bergerud
11-04-2014, 01:22 PM
You should be able to redraw the parts in the Designer program. I, and others on this forum, would be interested in helping if you have any trouble. I like your trucks.