PDA

View Full Version : Deep pockets or stacked carve regions?

LarryLesniak
08-03-2014, 02:31 PM
Since replacing the two cover switches and adding a Ringneck Blues dust collection adapter my machine has been running much more reliably and I'm finally getting consistent results. I'm still learning however and have a question about stacking carve regions to create deep pockets. I have a very simple project to carve a deep pocket in what will be a rectangular piece. To optimize the process I've laid out two pockets side-by-side on one board and created overlapping carve regions to allow me to use a 7/16" bowl cutting bit to leave nicely radiused corners in the bottom of the carving. Since the bit height is only 1/2" and I need a deeper pocket I created two carve regions, one .4" deep and another one of the exact same dimensions and in the same place .8 inches deep. I've placed the regions in order in the designer but when I run the design the machine ONLY carves the first .4" pass and then stops saying carve complete and it never runs the second pass to create the deeper pocket. Can someone take a look at my file and let me know what I might be doing wrong or perhaps give me an alternative way to create this design? Keep in mind that I can't cut the full depth in a single pass as the bit has only 1/2" cutting height. In the design file I've set the bit to 3/16" and have adjusted the size of the design so that the 7/16" bit creates the correct size pocket which it does, but only half the depth I need.

Is this something I should be doing with vectors instead of a carve region? I searched the forum and came across an old thread about deep pockets but the link to a tutorial and a solution is now dead.

Any help or suggestions you can give me would be greatly appreciated!

Larry

RogerB
08-03-2014, 02:55 PM
One thing you can do is Two carves the first one at .4
the second one like a new carve at .8 you will have to trick the CW as if it is starting with a new board.