PDA

View Full Version : What are PTN files

pathman
02-24-2007, 06:42 PM
I am a newb and do not know the differenct in PTN an MPC files. I downloaded a PTN file, but do not know how to use it. I tried to open it, but no luck. Any help is appreciated.

HandTurnedMaple
02-24-2007, 06:56 PM
.ptn is a pattern:

http://www.carvewright.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2566

.mps is a project.

ptn is in your library and can be applied to any project. Once a board has a pattern on it it becomes a project, which is saved as a .mpc.

pkunk
02-24-2007, 06:58 PM
I am a newb and do not know the differenct in PTN an MPC files. I downloaded a PTN file, but do not know how to use it. I tried to open it, but no luck. Any help is appreciated.
In Designer, open the Pattern file(blue shell), double click on 'favorites'(command click-Mac), & chose import-the file you downloaded. The files there are PTN, while something you have created on a board in Designer becomes an MPC file.

pkunk
02-24-2007, 07:00 PM
you type too fast, HTM. :)

pathman
02-25-2007, 07:58 AM
My thanks for setting me straight.

So far I have had my machine for 2 months and have cared 54% of one project.

The CW was a gift to myself after I had to have a heart stent in mid December. My idea was to carve on weekends for my four graddaughters and my wife.

First the four corner post were out of alignment and thanks to reading the forum, I was able to correct this situation.

I started carving and at the 54% mark, the bit dug through the piece and stopped. Machine is back at CW for repairs. I am not sure when it will return, but I watch everyday for the FedEx truck. My hope ramains high, but my heart is sad.

I hope to "learn by reading", as so far, I cannot "learn by doing". Thanks again for the help.

The Bard
02-25-2007, 12:37 PM
don't assault a Fedex truck there.... assault the DHL truck, that's how we send them hehe.

MJ carver
02-25-2007, 05:31 PM