PDA

View Full Version : Drum Sander

JoeinWestMich
08-01-2013, 04:58 PM
Not sure if this is the right forum for this question but here goes. I read a thread on one of the CNC forums where the user was preparing his wood blanks with a drum sander. I have never used one before so I don't know how useful this piece of wood working equipment would be in general and for CNC in particular. But the drum sander seems to be ideal for preparing wood blanks of uniform thickness and with a final finish (220 grit) for most stuff I would do with my Carvewright. I was looking at the Jet 16-32 drum sander online (Woodcraft, Amazon). It is not inexpensive but I could save enough to get one in a couple of months. Could those of you who use one please pipe in and give me your advice. FYI, I have a DeWalt 14 inch thickness planer, a Powermatic 6 inch jointer, and a very good cabinet table saw. Would a drum sander complement these tools or just be overkill. I am finishing setting up my garage wood shop for my retirement next year so any purchases such as a new drum sander would have to come this year. I look forward to your input.

DickB
08-01-2013, 05:33 PM
Depends on what you are doing, but I would say yes, it can be very useful for a CarveWright user. I just got a used Ryobi drum sander several weeks ago and I like it. If you follow my signature link to my web site, you can see the lake maps that I make. I use a poly/stain on the lakes and lettering, just slapping it on, then sand the uncarved portion to trim. Did it with a random-orbit for a long time. The drum sander works great for this. I also make max width pieces, 14.5" wide. The drum sander does a great job after gluing up a project board of that width.

badbert
08-01-2013, 06:42 PM
What is the advantage over a wider planer? My planer certainly leaves a smooth enough surface for anything i do.

DickB
08-01-2013, 07:09 PM