PDA

View Full Version : Using Baker Rotary Jig for small dia engraving - for Wooden/acrylic pens

Russel
06-27-2013, 12:59 PM
I have been making lathe turned pens for several years and have always wanted to engrave them. Laser engraving is way beyond my budget. However, the Baker Rotary jig may do the trick, if it can be modified to accommodate something less than 1/2" dia, using a mandrel to support it. Has anyone else done this, or does anyone have any ideas how to do it? I am not intimately familiar with rotary jigs, but they appear to be a possibility.

ladjr
06-27-2013, 01:50 PM
The main things is you need the 2 inch diameter at the ends, so it will turn. Someone did use smaller insides for something I can't remember. I think you could glue 2 inch blocks on each end of your pen slab.

dbfletcher
06-27-2013, 01:55 PM
Not sure what your budget is, but you can get quite capable laser for under $2k these days.

http://fslaser.com/products/lasers/hobby-lasers/40wbasic

T (http://fslaser.com/products/lasers/hobby-lasers/40wbasic)his particular model even has a rotary attachment that was designed by one of our CW forum members. Off Hand I dont remember who it was, but I'm sure if he see's this he'll chime in. There are also a whole slew of other things you can do with a laser cutter/engraver. It is probably the most used machine I own.

mtylerfl
06-27-2013, 02:11 PM
Not sure what your budget is, but you can get quite capable laser for under $2k these days.

http://fslaser.com/products/lasers/hobby-lasers/40wbasic

T (http://fslaser.com/products/lasers/hobby-lasers/40wbasic)his particular model even has a rotary attachment that was designed by one of our CW forum members. Off Hand I dont remember who it was, but I'm sure if he see's this he'll chime in. There are also a whole slew of other things you can do with a laser cutter/engraver. It is probably the most used machine I own.