PDA

View Full Version : Tool safety

roughcut
03-14-2013, 12:43 AM
Well I am not writing this for sympathy I just wanted all my friends to be safe I thought I was a very careful wood worker after all I have been working with saws and other wood working tools for a few years
now. But all it takes is one error in judgment . I was sawing a a dado in a 2” dowel when it twisted or bound up or something, any way it pulled my hand into the blade I lost my left middle finger and
my ring and little finger had to be fused. I still have limited use of my thumb and index finger. I am facing a month or so of therapy . All I am asking is for all of you to be ever alert and don’t let your
guard down I thought it can’t happen to me. But like I said it only takes once. I also ask for your prayers for me and also my son Rick he just finished his third time of chemo and radiation for cancer.
And PLEASE STAY SAFE

badbert
03-14-2013, 02:11 AM
I am so sorry to hear about your accident. And thank you for the wake up call. I say a little prayer every day, before I enter my shop. I will pray for your speedy recovery and for your son.

aokweld101
03-14-2013, 06:18 AM
I'm sorry that that has happend to you, no one likes to see someone get hurt, Iv'e been a welder for 30 yrs and have seen some accidents happen that wasn't to pretty, I have seen on on three different occausions a total of 6 fingers lost in that time, one mistake is all it takes. I'm not trying to being a smart#*$.. there is two things that have been told to me that keeps ringing in my ears everytime I work with power tools... #1- keep yor hands away from moving parts... and this one that took awhile to set in and understand... made me angry when I heard it, usually when I got hurt..... #2 ....If your going to be dumb you gotta be tough... welders are a rough carractors and have a hard outer shell, but
do care about people getting hurt...... I wish for a speedy recovery, for you and your son. again I'm sorry.

Gary Koval