PDA

View Full Version : Raised Circle

Proctorw
03-13-2013, 05:16 PM
Newbie here. My 3rd day of playing with this amazing machine. I hope this is really simple. I was designing a cross as shown and wanted to add a circle around it. I want both the cross and circle to be raised at the same height. Every time I invert the circle it hides the inside of the cross. I drew 2 circles, 1 bigger, 1 smaller and wanted that to be raised. You can see the lines in the first picture. Not sure how to cut out the area between the 2 circles. If I could figure that out, I am sure that would solve my problem. What am I doing wrong?

henry1
03-13-2013, 05:42 PM
Put your MPC on here will check it out

Proctorw
03-13-2013, 06:11 PM
I appreciate the help!

mtylerfl
03-13-2013, 06:58 PM
Here ya go...

(I THINK this is what you needed)

Proctorw
03-13-2013, 07:16 PM
Thanks! What did you do to get the circle to show like that without losing the interior of the cross?

mtylerfl
03-13-2013, 07:25 PM
Thanks! What did you do to get the circle to show like that without losing the interior of the cross?

Open your Carving List (as seen in my screenshot on the left). That will show you how I grouped the cross components and the circle components in their own sections. Also, notice how I used the Subtractive Merge on one of the circles which I had turned into a Carve Region and used the Invert (the "I" icon). This is one way of accomplishing this...I am pretty sure there are at least one or two other ways as well...but as soon as I did this, I stopped since it wasn't necessary. (one more thing you will see..BOTH circles are Carve Regions...one is the same depth as the rectangle...the other is a ZERO depth)

Proctorw
03-13-2013, 07:36 PM
Very Cool. After 3 days with this product, I am pretty impressed. The groupings and merge was something I wasn't quite sure of the purpose. Wasn't explained in the software manual. Thanks so much for your help!!!

mtylerfl
03-13-2013, 07:36 PM