PDA

View Full Version : Differences in machines.....will this one work???

jmoriearty
02-11-2013, 04:15 PM
My girlfriend's grandfather has an old compucarve that he never used, still in the box. I know absolutely nothing about this machine, but he wants me to have it. I've barely started using my new Carvewright, so I'm far from an expert on these machines. What kinds of challenges am I looking at using the two different machines in my shop as far as software and maintenance go?

eelamb
02-11-2013, 04:55 PM
Many on here have A machines, and either B or C. Using either will be the same. May need to upgrade the chuck to the rock or the carvetight, and even the FFC cable with the upgrade. But you will see no problems moving between either.

jmoriearty
02-11-2013, 05:48 PM
Many on here have A machines, and either B or C. Using either will be the same. May need to upgrade the chuck to the rock or the carvetight, and even the FCS cable with the upgrade. But you will see no problems moving between either.

Awesome, thanks! Good to know!

fwharris
02-11-2013, 08:12 PM
Eddie is right about the need for a chuck upgrade and probably the ffc cable if it has not had the a907 z truck upgrade. You can not change to the 14 pin cable with out also doing the other components that go with it or you will fry other components.

Seems there are still a lot of those "we bought the machine and it is still in the box" out there. Met several at the Denver show... :-(

lynnfrwd
02-11-2013, 09:27 PM
I get that all of the time. Couldn't imagine dropping that much cash and not taking it out of box for years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

unitedcases
02-11-2013, 09:34 PM
Right...I buy a box of screws and I can barely make it home before I open them.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk 2

badbert
02-11-2013, 10:15 PM