PDA

View Full Version : I am thinking of purchasing a Carvewright

airborne369
01-15-2013, 09:32 AM
I am thinking of purchasing a Carvewright to make customsigns. Can I use my own art or do I have to use what is available on the website? If I can use mine what format does it need to be in and how do I importit. Thank you for your help.

Ton80
01-15-2013, 09:57 AM
I am not an expert by any stretch and I'm sure the pro's on the forum will be responding to you shortly, but the short answer is probably "yes" if you can import your art in a format that works with Designer ( the proprietary software package that you use with the Carvewright machine ). I suppose it would help others to answer your question if you provide the file formats you keep your personal collection of artwork under.

You can also import grayscale images that will work at patterns that allow you to create 3D carvings. I don't do much with 3D carvings myself but there are plenty of users successfully building their collection of homemade patterns using free software like GIMP, or commercial alternatives like PS and Corel. Generally, the file format most will use to import these images would be PNG but JPG works also. There is an import option in the file menu of Designer.

I believe you can download Designer and play with it for a trial period and that might help you work through some of the info you will get once more experienced users jump in here

lawrence
01-15-2013, 10:03 AM
You can absolutely both make your own art or you can use what is available on the website or you can get lots of free patterns here.

I did a few youtube videos a while back-- they are poorly done and by no means cover all the things that are possible, but they cover some of the things you can do

There have been several notable software advances since these videos were made (notably the 2d and 3d tools) which help further pattern making even more.