PDA

View Full Version : Need Help again

Loriblackdog
01-02-2013, 08:19 AM
Ok, I am still learning and not sure of what I need to do, can someone look at my piece and tell me how I fix it so that I can learn what I am doing wrong. I took 2 pictures and want to combine into 1 scene with the Pine tree and bear? I would greatly appreciate any advise.

Thank you

HAPPY NEW YEAR

Loriblackdog:)58451

DickB
01-02-2013, 09:23 AM
It looks like you have left a "background" on each picture. Generally this is not desirable. The pictures themselves also look to be of somewhat poor quality and could use some cleanup. If you post the pictures I will take a look at them and show you what to do.

Do you have the Pattern Editor software add on (also comes with the scanning probe)? It's not necessary, but helpful to know.

SteveNelson46
01-02-2013, 09:45 AM
Lorieblackdog

I put a carve region around the two patterns and then just played arround with the depth and the height on each of them until the background went away. I also applied a medium draft to both pattrens and set the bit quality to best on everything.

Loriblackdog
01-02-2013, 09:51 AM
58456584575845658457That is just it, I am trying to learn how use this pattern editor and create my own pictures, but not sure on how to do it, I did not get the probe. I used micrsoft paint to clean up a little but I am not sure how to get the cleaned up one to another area that I can fix. I am trying to learn by doing....????????? Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Loriblackdog

DickB
01-02-2013, 10:59 AM
Loriblackdog,

I only worked with the bear image, but as these are both silhouettes similar techniques should work.

The bear image is very small and, as a jpg format, contains undesirable artifacts. If possible, start with higher-resolution images in non-lossy formats like png.

The free program paint.net is more capable and I am familiar with it so that is what I used. I opened your picture.