PDA

View Full Version : Couple of Santa projects that escaped the sawdust factory...

gwhiz
12-22-2012, 11:20 AM
The court clerks sign was the biggest PITA. Originally carved in two parts, the letter halve's didn't line up so I ripped it apart and carved a new center section. Then messed up the finish so I had to sand it off and refinish. The Sons of Anarchy ashtray was made from a pattern posted out here--it's for my riding buddy who made some Adirondack chairs last year, so I made a stand with bike trip memories to match his chairs. The tray was also from patterns posted out here. Thanks to all who contributed to these!

jakab
12-22-2012, 12:04 PM
Hi there, excellent work. I'm just getting started with my machine and have done a couple of small signs. I wonder of if could share the method you use for getting your finish so perfect, no fuzzies, consistent colour, great shine. The ones I have done look pretty good out of the machine, I used a soft brass brush to remove the fuzzies, but when applying stain all the letters and stuff that isn't perfectly smooth in the little nooks and crannies looks darker and rough.

I'm struggling a bit with this to the point of not carving anymore till I figure this out, or somebody like you shares his experience.

If you know where this info has already been posted I wouldn't mind a pointer to it.

Thanks for listening and keep up the great work.

...Peter

gwhiz
12-22-2012, 12:45 PM
Different methods work for different projects. After sanding the flat areas with with whatever will work (i.3. Orbital, 1/4 sheet, hand, folded sandpaper, sandpaper wrapped around a pencil, etc.) I use a sanding wheel on a dremel and/or a sanding mop to smooth it out as much as possible. There is no way to skip the drudgery of sanding