PDA

View Full Version : Staining Tip

kennelmaster
11-15-2012, 05:58 PM
First of all, I am a newbie and probably don't have any place giving tips. But as I am learning this addicting hobby, necessity becomes the mother of invention. Here is something that worked for me.

I did a little carve that had a very close/narrow groove that I wanted to stain. Getting a stain filled cloth into the groove was hopeless. So... I loaded up a syringe with stain and shot it into the groove. I rolled the excess around and up the sides. Then I used the compressor air to blow out the excess. Perfectly, evenly stained. Feed stores, pharmacys and the like will have syringes if you don't have access. Give it a try!

Warm regards,

Paul;)

rncurrie
11-15-2012, 06:41 PM
That sounds like a winner to me.

DickB
11-15-2012, 06:48 PM
What brand of stain do you use? I usually use Minwax. It is very thin - brush on, wipe off, a lot of it gets adsorbed.

kennelmaster
11-16-2012, 08:59 AM
What brand of stain do you use? I usually use Minwax. It is very thin - brush on, wipe off, a lot of it gets adsorbed.

I use MINWAX also, I usually use a cloth to apply rather than a brush.

cestout
11-16-2012, 02:46 PM
Great idea!! While we are on Minwax stain - stain your poplar projects(and pine for that matter) with Minwax oil base natural stain first , then with the intended darker stain. It won't be as dark, but it won't be blotchy.
Clint

gwizpro
11-16-2012, 03:25 PM
We make our products out of Poplar and we use Sherwin Williams Wiping Stains. We apply the stain directly (wiping with rag) and we get no blotching, in fact you can stop staining in the middle of a project , go get a cup of coffee and start where you left off without any overlapping or lines. We have been using it for years and it does poplar very very well. Works just as great on regular pine too......

DickB
11-16-2012, 04:39 PM
Minwax also has a preconditioner for this.

b.sumner47
11-16-2012, 09:06 PM