PDA

View Full Version : Apostrophe and the proper use!

Ike
09-20-2012, 11:12 AM
Okay I know here I go again, but I feel pretty strong about using an apostrophe correctly! I have been making signs for 32 years and never yes never added an incorrect apostrophe! That said am I better then anybody else? NO!!! I learned from my uncle who has been in the sign business since 1976 the proper use of an apostrophe. In signs the apostrophe is use to show possession, I.E. The Smith's House or to use an apostrophe for a letter, I.E. The Thomas' the apostrophe replaces the "S". The Thomas's looks funny and is incorrect, well yes and no! You can add the "S", but it looks weird!

Why am I posting this? For the new sign makers some may not know and some may not care and some may think I am out of my mind! Here is a link to the definition for an apostrophe, http://oxforddictionaries.com/words/apostrophe. Of course an apostrophe is use for contractions such as "Can not" ....Can't an "N and an O" is replaced with the apostrophe.

Now at this point you may be saying, "Hey wait when you add an apostrophe to a sign for example, " The Butlers, Tom and Mary" Well that shows where they live and it is there home! Sorry no!! Unless on the sign it reads, " The Butler's House" an apostrophe is not used. The Butlers shows pluralization and not possessions.

I know customers may ask for an apostrophe, but I ask them if they know about the proper use of the apostrophe? If they are adamant about an apostrophe I ask them to tell others I advised them it is not proper and I advised them, but the customer wanted the apostrophe! I have yet to put an apostrophe incorrectly in a sign!

I hope I have enlighten some of you and not offended anyone. If I have offended anyone I apologize! But doing the correct and proper things in the sign business sets the professionals apart from the amateurs! I have yet had an issue with a customer in 32 years Well again I hope nobody has been offended!

Ike