PDA

View Full Version : Importing .jpg files

Don Phelps
01-29-2007, 01:14 AM
I am new at this and need some despreate help. I have a guy returning from over seas and he is retiring. I have tried to import the jpg of an Master Chiefs anchor but it looks like @!#!. Anyway I have attached the files if anyone can help make it work like the ones in the program I would be very greatful.

HandTurnedMaple
01-29-2007, 11:13 AM
While I work with it, what about your import did you not like?

Jeff_Birt
01-29-2007, 11:13 AM
Do some searcing (top right on screen) on the forums and you will find a lot of information on why importing pictures directly does not turn out well. Designer interprests shades of grey as depth information. Also, Jon Jantz did a tutorial on how to use Corel Draw to rodo logos so that they carve nice.

BoardSilly
01-29-2007, 03:02 PM
The larger the original image the better detail you will get out of it. Smaller images lose clarity when you enlarge them, while larger images remain clear when you reduce them.

Don Phelps
01-29-2007, 06:09 PM
While I work with it, what about your import did you not like?

It turned out without much clarity and it had little sharp peaks all over it.

HandTurnedMaple
01-29-2007, 06:25 PM
There is a lot of noise in that pic, espcially when you enlarge it. You should convert it to greyscale, then use either a masking tool and eraser to clean up the background, or just use the background eraser tool. If you are seeing the little sharp peaks in the importer window, then create the pattern and most of them actually go away (the carving bit can't manipulate something that small, so it just ignores them). They are caused by white noise along the edges of the picture content. You have to zoom way in on the jpg to see them with your eye.