PDA

View Full Version : How to create a fish contour using "puffing"

Picketoaks
07-30-2012, 07:47 AM
Hi all... CW newbie here.

I have been experimenting with some simple outline carvings using Designer and have just purchased the new 3D Pattern Modeling Suite. As tutorials and information are limited for new software, I'm looking for help to create a carving similar to the image I've attached below. Note that I'm not trying to copy it per se and am not interested in the carving details but would simply like to know how to achieve carving out a similar outline of a fish form. That is, one that tapers or is rounded down from the form's center horizontal line.

I've tried a few attempts using the "puffing" function but am not happy with my results. I'm not sure how to explain my results either since I'm very new to this and the CW system. My best description is that my tests seem to take too much surface wood away and the carving is very much diminished.

Can anyone guide me on how to achieve something like what I've attached?

Thank you for your time and consideration.

bjbethke
07-30-2012, 11:47 AM
Hi all... CW newbie here.

I have been experimenting with some simple outline carvings using Designer and have just purchased the new 3D Pattern Modeling Suite. As tutorials and information are limited for new software, I'm looking for help to create a carving similar to the image I've attached below. Note that I'm not trying to copy it per se and am not interested in the carving details but would simply like to know how to achieve carving out a similar outline of a fish form. That is, one that tapers or is rounded down from the form's center horizontal line.

I've tried a few attempts using the "puffing" function but am not happy with my results. I'm not sure how to explain my results either since I'm very new to this and the CW system. My best description is that my tests seem to take too much surface wood away and the carving is very much diminished.