PDA

View Full Version : 2007 0r 08 Carvewright Router

Tagwatts
07-27-2012, 02:28 PM
The router came with software. After some research and study, I decided it needed to have an update spindle. Having found this out, will I now have to have a upgrade for the software as well? I have had incurred no costs with this machine as it came to me as a gift. It came to me still in the carton it was sold in. It was never even opened in 6 + years. So this is a brand new, unused machine. I have read several reviews on this product. Many of them are not favorable, but from what I have read, it seems to be more operator error than machine problems.

So any help here would be greatly appreciated. I am not a professional woodworker, but enjoy woodworking as a hobby. I have read the manual that came with it and created notes as to what I think needs to be done prior to ever trying to use the Router.

Thanks,

chevytrucking
07-27-2012, 02:58 PM
I bought a used machine and had read all the reviews and suggested upgrades too. But, I wouldn't just jump on the upgrade bandwagon just yet. I'd use the machine just as it is for while and get to know it before spending any money on upgrades. I use mine, and it's older than yours, without any upgrades and although I've had issues now and then, it basically works as it's supposed to. After you install the software and register, under the "help" header there is a check for upgrades link that will take care of the software, free of course.

The only upgrade that I'm leaning towards really hard, is the rubber belts. The sandpaper ones work pretty good, but put a slightly out of square board in there, and you'll screw one up. Again, I suggest just using it as is until you get to know it better and then decide about upgrades as you encounter issues. Learning the software really well is the main thing you need at first, I think the hardware is fine.

fwharris
07-27-2012, 03:07 PM