PDA

View Full Version : How to make your machine more reliable.

leop
06-23-2012, 02:08 AM
I finally broke down and drew out schematics for my machine. I am not going to share them with folks because I do not want to piss off the CarveWright people as I still need support from them, but if you need help repairing your machine I'll do my best to help you.

I'll also say that the number one reliability problem with this machine stems from the incredible high frequency vibrations that the electronics are subjected to. I have been working in electronics for 25 years and I can attest, after drawing out the schematics for this machine, that the circuit design itself is fine. The electronics are failing because they are being vibrated to death. Not too much bad I can say in this regard because one of the goals of the machine is to have one tightly integrated cost effective package, and that means the electronics go inside the machine. However if you look at other CNC machines (of any type: wood, metal, plastic) the electronics are kept as far away from the mechanical portion of the machine as possible. Would you run your router and set it on top of your lap top and then expect the lap top to survive for 250 hrs?

So do what I did. Build a stand for the machine, isolate it from the stand and then move the electronics out and away from the machine. Longer cables make this a breeze. The package will be bigger and the cables might be clumsy if your don't make them tight, but the machine will run better, longer and for a lot less money in the long run. I might build a cable kit if enough people want it. Or I'll take pictures of mine and you guys can DIY and save money, have fun and better understand your machine.

unknowncarver
06-23-2012, 08:10 AM
Pictures would be a great start. Seems like a very ambitious project.

lynnfrwd
06-23-2012, 08:48 AM
That's quite a first post. Welcome to the forum. You still using the old QC?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chebytrk