PDA

View Full Version : Board measurement???

djarboe
05-25-2012, 04:48 PM
I have not used my Carvewrigh for some time, due to other cirsumstances. Finally got back to it today, re-lubed my cable, cleaned the tracks and recoated them with 3-in-1. Took the vacuum to it, etc.

At first I kept getting the check board sensor error. So, I looked here, and blew it out with canned computer air. That cleared that problem.

I want to carve an approximately 9 in long board, but am using rails that are about 38" long. I know all the old tricks (masking tape, etc.) , but now it only scans to the one end of the rail with the masking tape across it, and then stops measuring to the middle of the walnut. I tried putting in a piece of white paper, but could never figure out how to check the reflection level. I could not figure out how to get to that in the "options" menu, which was suggested by Al, I believe.

Seems to measure the width just fine. Stuck here.

I am an engineer, but for the life of me, this is confounding! Any suggestions?

Dave

bergerud
05-25-2012, 05:21 PM
Is that not standard procedure? It has stopped to ask questions. Center? Cut to size? and so on. It does that when the board measures longer than the design board. OR is it a different problem. If it is a different problem, you may have to explain in more detail.

djarboe
05-25-2012, 06:39 PM
I'm only using a 9" board, but I have 38" rails on both sides. Have masking tape on the end of the rails, and masking tape in the roller side of the support. Always worked before. My design is smaller then the piece I am putting in, due to the raies.
It finds the back end of the board, but quits at the center of the real board.

djarboe
05-25-2012, 07:02 PM
I'm only using a 9" board, but I have 38" rails on both sides. Have masking tape on the end of the rails, and masking tape in the roller side of the support. Always worked before.

bergerud
05-25-2012, 08:09 PM