PDA

View Full Version : Best wood to use

jspringertx
01-26-2007, 08:07 AM
I am a newbie (just received my machine yesterday) and are anxious to get started. Can anyone suggest what type of wood I should buy for best results (pine, poplar, red oak, white oak, etc)? I would probably buy the 10 or 12 inch width and cut to size.

I called CarveWright yesterday for the first time, received my activation code immediately and did one sign on some scrap wood I have.

By the way, I saw that Sears was including this item on the Craftsman Club later this month. Since I paid $1,899 plus shipping I called them and asked them "what gives?" They told me to contact them next week and they would credit my account for the difference. It restored my faith in Sears customer service. :D

Malfunction
01-26-2007, 08:40 AM
MDF works decent for a carving.

HandTurnedMaple
01-26-2007, 10:28 AM
The FAQ does state that materials containing glue (MDF, plywood, particle board, et al) will dull bits at a higher rate (probably because of heat issues and the elastic resistance of the glue versus the shearing of the wood it was designed for).

When mine comes in today (fingers crossed and anger mode on standby), I will be using trying the 4 pieces of basswood I have on hand after a couple of test runs with clear pine. I asked around at the WoodCraft store in Boise, and they recommended basswood for handcarving so I figured it was worth a try. I will publish the results.

jspringertx
01-26-2007, 10:38 AM
Basswood sounds like an excellent choice. I found the FAQ and it does mention that glued wood will cause the bits to lose their sharpness.

I noticed that CarveWright prefers a tight grain.

HandTurnedMaple
01-26-2007, 10:43 AM