PDA

View Full Version : 3rd owner of a never used A-model...

badbert
05-06-2012, 02:07 AM
Ok to start with I really want to take time to thank all of you. This forum is a wonderful resource. And the people I see going out of there way to help newbies like me, makes me glad I purchased this machine. SOO... I answered an ad on Craigslist. Un-"used" Compucarve. I paid $900 for it... Before I discovered this wonderful forum. But no use crying over spilled milk. I have coveted the machine since first viewing. And at that time they were in the $2000 dollar range. So I thought it was a good buy... As usual too good to be true. The reason it was unused, is because it won't work. I have built or repaired a hundred or so computers. And I am a retired Automotive Developmental Technician. Electronic Engine controls were my specialty. So I am a pretty competent at diagnostic routines. Originally I got a close cover error. I proved out both switches with my fluke by pinning out the back of the z board. The switches were working. And in fact the cover was just the first failure. None of the sensors were reading. So after several hours of searching and reading here I eventually traced it to an improperly seated Ribbon cable in the z motor (Thanx Al). 52983 I now have working sensors. 5298452985529865298752988 But anytime the machine calls for movement i immediately get the following error 52989. I disassembled and checked every connection I can find. I tried running the user tests for the motors 52990

badbert
05-06-2012, 02:13 AM
And I get to this page 52991 but no matter what I do it just goes back to this page 52992 I did notice that the controller was warm in a spot when the sensors were dead. I suspect the controller is the problem, but do not know how to prove-out without a test part. Any input will be greatly appreciated! Here are a few pics with more info 529935299452995529965299752998

badbert
05-06-2012, 02:16 AM

chief2007
05-06-2012, 07:14 AM