PDA

View Full Version : To protect or not to protect.... surge suppression?

Sawbit
01-25-2007, 07:09 PM
A question form the new guy. Have surge suppressors been suggested? Necessary? Or is my wife correct and I worry too much?

Jeff_Birt
01-25-2007, 09:31 PM
I do not keep my machine plugged in when not in use which helps a bunch. If you get a surge supressor get a good one, Belkin, etc, that has a warrenty with it.

Bane
01-25-2007, 09:32 PM
I would suggest a surge suppressor. It is a motor and motors create spikes. It should hurt to have one anyway.

BenCraig
01-25-2007, 09:59 PM
I work in the insurance industry (Catastrophe Adjuster.) I see lots of things go wrong. Having said that, I protect things as much as I can. My rule of thumb is this, anything electronic that costs more than $25 is plugged into a surge protector. So, my vote is, 'Yes. Buy a surge protector.'

BC

pkunk
01-25-2007, 10:04 PM
I have whole house surge suppression on both my house & the shop. Today we had a surge/momentary failure whilst the Carvewright™ was running & it stopped & showed a message indicating a power problem. I get this alot and the Carvewright™ just shrugs it off. I'd recommend one for anything electronic, including lightbulbs.

Wood Butcher
01-26-2007, 04:27 PM
The problem with retail surge suppressors is design.