PDA

View Full Version : Machine not holding straight line while carving

Denise
04-04-2012, 10:35 PM
I am new to Carve Wright. This system is less than 60 days old and causing issues.

I was Carving onto Corian and the image border line as well as the image, shifted during operation. Not sure how to word it exactly, but I have attached an image to better show what happened.

This is not the first time this has happened to me. This is the 3rd carving in a row (all were different images) and each of them all shifted somewhere between 50 - 70 % completion. Any help in correcting this issue is greatly appreciated.

System is a new machine (Version C) and currently has 7 hours and 3 minutes. It is well maintained and vacuumed / cleaned after each use.

I can't find any of the answers on the forums. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Denise
04-04-2012, 10:43 PM
Here is a better image to show the issue...and yes there is a crack through the center as I broke it before I decided to write and ask for help.

thanks again52254

fwharris
04-04-2012, 10:59 PM
Looks like a classic case of Corian dust/chips in the Y and Z drive belts. Had the very same (well a lot worse actually) thing happen to my first litho carve.

Inspection of the machine found packed chips in the pulley gears and belts. This caused them to jump/skip and shift the carving start points. This was even with stopping every 5 minutes to vacuum the machine out.

The Corian dust/chips do not compress like wood dust and seem to build up a lot faster.

A good dust collection system is your best choice if you plan on doing a lot of Corian or acrylic carvings. Depending on the CFM rating of the dust collector I would also recommend pausing the machine during the carve to inspect and clean the Y and Z gears and belts.

LittleRedWoodshop
04-05-2012, 10:32 AM
I think Floyd nailed it.

Digitalwoodshop
04-05-2012, 10:52 AM