PDA

View Full Version : How do you change out the router quick Changer

limelicker
01-24-2007, 09:44 PM
I am new to the carvewright machine(2weeks). While making my first project I put in the 90 degree bit to router the edges. The bit came loose, I immediately turned off the machine, but it put burrs on all 4 tabs on the quick changer on the machine. Stopping it from coming all the way down and locking the bits in place. I bought a new quick changer from Sears, I disconnected the flex cable, took off the flex cable holder and the retaining ring from underneath. I am very mechanically inclined but am not sure how to proceed from here. I'm hoping someone has been through this or has a shop manual. I live in California and don't want to ship it to Texas just for this. Thank you very much in advance.

The Bard
01-24-2007, 09:53 PM
use something square to hold the top in place... we use a ground down allen wrench. Then take, I believe, a 7/8ths flat wrench to screw the quick change off and the new one back on.

Use a small dab of blue (medium) threadlock on the spindle before putting it on, though. Then tighten as tight as you can w/o breaking the allen wrench.

At least I THINK that's how you do it. :oops:

pkunk
01-24-2007, 09:58 PM
That's about right Chris. I will help to remove it if you warm it with a heatgun or hair dryer first to soften the threadlock.

limelicker
01-24-2007, 10:36 PM
You guys are too good :D . Thanx for the very fast replies. Was done for the day here, was gonna start fresh again tomorrow morning. I feel a lot better, now that I have a game plan for tomorrow. Thank you very much, Bard and you too Pkunk !! Limelicker

The Bard
01-25-2007, 12:07 AM
8)

Woodpecker
03-07-2007, 06:09 AM
I wonder if the plumbing wrench which is flat and opens like a crescent wrench will do this job? If any one has tried it please post the results.

Semper Fi
03-07-2007, 06:29 AM