PDA

View Full Version : Bit question

Geophyrd
03-10-2012, 03:18 PM
I'm a newbie, as you can probably tell by the number of questions I've asked.

One issue that I've got is that I can't tell which bit is which. I'm carving a project right now...the Spring Wreath project. It asked for the 1/8 carving bit then the 1/16 cutting bit. I used the bit that is tapered at the end, then the one that is straight. Now I'm not sure I got them in the right order. Is the machine smart enough to know which bit is mounted or if its the wrong one?

Its cutting, and looks like its doing a good job. But I'm a little worried that when its done, the machine will have carved with a cutting bit or visa versa.

Got one more questions while I'm at it: I got a board problem message popped when I tried to cut the first board. The sensors were clean, so was the board (no real defects). It was the right length and depth. I got the error several times (machine moved the board all the way forward while measuring, then stopped). It also read tracking issue. When I swapped out the board, the second board seems to be doing fine. Thoughts?

thanks in advance for the help!

chebytrk
03-10-2012, 03:55 PM
the carving bit is the one that comes to a point. It is usually also the one that is asked for last. The 1/8 ctting but has the flat tip.

Geophyrd
03-10-2012, 03:57 PM
the carving bit is the one that comes to a point. It is usually also the one that is asked for last. The 1/8 ctting but has the flat tip.

Sounds like I reversed them. Will the machine be able to reverse actions, or should I stop it and restart with new material?

Digitalwoodshop
03-10-2012, 07:59 PM