PDA

View Full Version : Newbie hoping to make Lemonade?

BigFishy
02-29-2012, 04:38 PM
Hi All,

I've been lurking on the forum for the last few days waiting for my account to be activated. I purchased a second hand but seemingly never used Compucarve a while back and have had it sitting in a cabinet for the last few months waiting for the motivation to get it out and start learning how to use it. Finally got my software licensed this morning and was told by the tech support guy that I have an early A series Machine. I didn't know anything about these machines when I bought it other than I had seen the commercials on TV and it seemed like a cool tool.  I'm a remodel carpenter by trade so I'm a total sucker for cool tools!

*Edit* Turns out I'm just an idiot! :-)

-Marlin.

fwharris
02-29-2012, 04:42 PM
Welcome Martin,,

Make sure you have the card plugged into the machine and ALWAYS make sure the machine is OFF when putting the card in or taking it out...

BigFishy
02-29-2012, 04:53 PM
Whew!

I feel better already. Between putting the card in and adjusting the contrast I'm getting some where!

Turns out my machine has 19 minutes of "On Time"

Anything you guys can clue me in on about these A Models? I've read varying reports of reliability. Seems like you either get a good one or a lemon!

I can already tell this forum will be invaluable!

-Marlin

fwharris
02-29-2012, 05:04 PM
Martin,

It might be worth a call to CarveWright to see what if any updates have been done to the machine. Some early A machines did not include the A907 Z PAK upgrade. They should have a record of the machine and how it is set up hardware wise. Also you will have the original QC (quick change chuck) so be looking to upgrade to the new CarveTight spindle system.

BigFishy
02-29-2012, 05:24 PM