PDA

View Full Version : converting pictures to good carving patterns in wood

bamaman315
01-01-2012, 11:41 AM
What is a good program to use to convert a picture to a good wood carving? Grey scale option.

Alan Malmstrom
01-01-2012, 04:00 PM
I would suggest GIMP 2. It has many of the same features as PhotoShop at none of the cost. I have been using it for a few months now and it is now my go to program for making height map raster patterns for my CarveWright. With the program you can draw objects, blend them, tilt them, rotate them, etc. I have been discovering new things about the program like smoothing out patterns, curving them, warping them etc. I have been playing around with making my own keyboard shortcuts for easily accessing the filters and stuff.

Here is the link to thier web site: http://www.gimp.org/

Alan

DickB
01-02-2012, 11:13 AM
What is a good program to use to convert a picture to a good wood carving? Grey scale option.
This is a common question for newer users. I'm afraid the answer is that there is no good program or easy technique to convert a picture into a good wood carving, in my opinion. For a good carving, we want to have a realistic 3D effect. Items in the foreground of the picture should protrude in our carving more than items in the background. A picture does not contain this kind of depth information that can be imported directly into the Designer software. The designer software needs a depth map, not a picture, to produce a good carving.

Here's an example. Compare the picture of the fireplug to the depth map of a similar fireplug. The picture, if imported to designer, can produce a carving, but it will not be very nice in my opinion. The depth map, if imported, will produce a nice 3D carving.

50111 50112

Try importing each of these images and see what you think.

I know of no easy, automated way to convert the picture at left into the depth map at right.

Alan Malmstrom
01-02-2012, 11:58 AM
50115Well said DickB.