PDA

View Full Version : Flex Shaft Chain Lube w/ Moly

lpj1019
12-12-2011, 12:05 PM
I don't know if this will help anyone but I wasn't able to find a chain lube that actually has "with Moly" printed on the front of the can.....I used a Liquid Wrench once that had the Moly in the ingredient listing but it wasn't on the front of the can.....anyway, I burnt up my flex shaft.....lol

My newer shaft came and I've been running it for about 6 months and I'm ready to maintain it......again after searching O'Rileys, Peep Boys and Auto Zone, Meijer.....I've looked everywhere for it and just shocked that I couldn't find it until and by chance I stopped at the local GRAINGER.....before I retired we found everything at Grainger and I'll be damn if it wasn't right at the door when I walked in, MOLY CHAIN LUBE.....lol.....and right beside that in big ole letters was DRY LUBE.....so if anyone has a problem finding a chain lube "with Moly".....go to your local Grainger store.

chebytrk
12-12-2011, 12:11 PM
someone mentioned liquid graphite too?

mtylerfl
12-12-2011, 12:29 PM
someone mentioned liquid graphite too?

Yeah, I think Chris R. uses spray graphite on the four upright posts...not positive if he uses that on the flex core - I think so. I was told the flex cores come from the factory with graphite lube already embedded in them - it's part of the manufacturing process. I use the Chain Lube w/ Moly...the one can will last me a lifetime. On one machine, the flex core has been lubed once...the other machine, only twice, in five years.

dltccf
12-13-2011, 08:56 AM
I don't know if this will help anyone but I wasn't able to find a chain lube that actually has "with Moly" printed on the front of the can.....I used a Liquid Wrench once that had the Moly in the ingredient listing but it wasn't on the front of the can.....anyway, I burnt up my flex shaft.....lol