PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using Daz3D or Poser

sk8nmike
12-10-2011, 03:01 PM
I've recently started using Daz3D for create patterns with and have made some nice 3D models. I've been saving them as a Wavefront object and converting them to STL then in to the Pattern editor.

Problem I'm having is the loss of detail. If I compress the STL it flattens the entire pattern losing the fine detail.

Anyone have a solution to this?

jpaluck
12-10-2011, 08:25 PM
Can you post a pic of before and the after import.

sk8nmike
12-11-2011, 07:36 AM
And I've found one solution, that is the unlink the scale factor on the STL importer and set the z axis to the depth I want to carve, .5 on these. I still lose detail but not as much. Still looking for ideas..

jpaluck
12-11-2011, 01:22 PM
sk8nmike

I think I see your issue. I hope I explain this right..lol..self taught so I might butcher the terminology up but you should get the idea of what I'm trying to explain. You have to use a viewports reference plane as the end point and start point of your model. Modeling for cnc carving ie 2.5d as it's reffered to sometimes gets a hair tricky. You have to look at thhe plane or reference plane in say the top viewport as the back of your board you going to be carving on. Also you will be looking straight down on the model in EXACTLY 90 degree angle so under cuts and spaces will chopped straight down.

I have attached a few pictures to help give you an idea. The first model of Mickey mouse is a good 3d model. Renders nice. But for carving it will lose all detail for the most part. The reason is, it was modeled in full 3d space - meaning no back reference point. It was not intended to be a cnc carving so hence no back reference.

The other model of woody was done to be a carving...this should give you an idea. LOL pic worth a thousand words

mtylerfl
12-11-2011, 02:55 PM