PDA

View Full Version : The cat is out of the bag.. Round Carvings are possible with the Carvewright.

Pages : [1] 2

edzbaker
09-23-2011, 06:09 PM
Now that the cat is out of the bag (See the www.Carvewright (http://www.Carvewright) page) I suppose it is time to show off some of the walking canes I have been making for nearly three years. Take a look at this: http://customcarved.web.officelive.com/default.aspx the red tabs on the left side of the pages have numerous pictures.

As you can see the Carvewright is capable of rotating and carving round stock. Yep,, just like a 4th axis machine does it.

Ed

dbfletcher
09-23-2011, 06:35 PM
I do have a question of how your setup compares tot eh LHR CO2 Attachment. I always kind of wished they made that available to end users but I think I remember reading at one time it was for educational users only.

edzbaker
09-23-2011, 06:43 PM
I do have a question of how your setup compares tot eh LHR CO2 Attachment. I always kind of wished they made that available to end users but I think I remember reading at one time it was for educational users only.

Doug it has nothing in common with the CO2 attachment.. My "Rotary Jig" Rotates the carving stock as it is being carved. It carves in 360 degrees wraping the carving AROUND the carving stock. It is limited to 14 inch stock, 2 inches in diameter, and you must leave one inch on each end uncarved for it to rotate the stock with.

see these pictures of some Candlestick holders carved with the Rotary Jig. You can definately tell that they were Rotated while being carved.

I also added a picture of the Carvewright (Cover Removed to take the picture) with the round piece being carved. As you can see, it is Round.
This picture was when I was carving a Cross in Cedar, to become a walking cane.

NOTICE NOTICE NOTICE NOTICE
It doesn't say so in the advertisment, BUT, The Rotary Jig will be shipped with TWO pieces of 2" by 14" Carving stock, (Maple or Birch) so that you are ready to start.